Tags

, , , ,

I figured I’d better post this before 2013 is over…so here goes!

So, there was that one time when I, along with a friend, were interviewed on our favorite podcast that reached something like 100,000 people. So yeah. I’m tooting my own horn here. And I’m fine with it.

You dream. You hope. You aspire. You head into the new year hoping a few of your dreams will come true, your hopes will be accomplished, and your aspirations will be realized. I didn’t think so much awesome could happen for me in the first week of 2013. But then I got this tweet:

So here’s the back story – my friend Betty and I spent far too much time and thought creating what we thought were hilarious audio/video podcasts for our friend who was in Brazil doing mission work. This was around Christmas time, and we knew that she would be missing the festivities…so we wanted to send her Christmas greetings. Betty, the brilliant lyricist that she is, wrote new lyrics to the tune of “The Holly and the Ivy” and naturally we used our favorite instruments to create “The Ukulele and the Slide Whistle”. It was so fun creating the video and we really just thought it would be a nice quirky way to say Merry Christmas to our friend.

Well, here’ the back back story. Relevant Magazine is my favorite magazine in the entire world. What they do is amazing. They put out a podcast every week that is absolutely hilarious and one of their podcasters makes lots of dry jokes and even puns from time to time. He started bringing his slide whistle to the recording of the podcast, making the whistle sound at the end of a bad joke. So, in honor of this awesome resurgence of the slide whistle into our lives, Betty bought us a few to use, you know, in every day life.

So we tweeted our video at the Relevant podcast since they were a bit of an inspiration. They tweeted back, and wanted to interview us. And they did.

But of course, since I’ve taken so long to write this silly post, much has happened. I received a tweet from a guy who liked our song so much, that he actually made it his ringtone. I’ve also had a number of people from work find this little gem which obviously makes for some sweet “water cooler” talk. All in all, ’twas a great song written for a great friend; turning into a great day in early 2013.

The podcast link is below!

http://www.relevantmagazine.com/podcast/sugar-hi-lows-performs-live